Cian Ó Mathúna

Prof. Cian Ó Mathúna is Head of MicroNano Systems Centre at Tyndall National Institute, University College Cork, Ireland and is a Research Professor in the School of Engineering, University College Cork. He has 40 years experience in applied research and technology transfer to Irish and international companies. His research and publications have focused on “More than Moore”, the convergence of microelectronics and microsystems, whereby CMOS provides an intelligent platform for the miniaturisation and heterogeneous integration of non-standard functions such as sensors, actuators, power and communications.

Prof. Ó Mathúna has been a co-founding member of Irish industry-academic research clusters in the areas of surface mount technology (Smart Group Ireland), Wireless Sensor Networks (WiSEN) and Power Electronics (PEIG). In 2010, he was an Irish Government appointee on the National Innovation Task Force Implementation Group. In October 2014, Prof. Ó Mathúna became Deputy Director of the Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) CONNECT Centre for Future Networks and Communications.

In 2008, Prof. Ó Mathúna founded the International Workshop on Power Supply on Chip (PwrSoC) which has become the highly-influential flagship workshop for the IEEE Power Electronics Society and the US-based Power Sources Manufacturers Association (PSMA). Through his leadership in PwrSoC, and his extensive collaborations with world-leading industry players in Europe, USA and Asia, Ó Mathúna has had a significant influence on the emergence of a global supply-chain that, in 2021, began delivery of high-volume production of magnetics-on-silicon for use in commercial consumer products.

In 2013, Prof. Ó Mathúna was elevated to IEEE Fellow with the citation “for leadership in the development of power supply using micromagnetics on silicon”. For his impact on the industry, Ó Mathúna was, in 2021, awarded the IEEE Power Electronics Society Technical Achievement Award for Integration and Miniaturisation of Switching Power Converters. For the development of the magnetics-on-silicon “MagIC” technology and its expected impact over the next decade, Tyndall’s Integrated Magnetics team also received, in 2021, one of two EARTO (European Association of Research and Technology Organisations) Impact Innovation Awards.

Dipankar Bandyopadhyay

Dr. Dipankar Bandyopadhyay is a B.Sc in Chemistry and B.Tech in Chemical Engineering from Calcutta University. After completion of M.Tech from the Department of Chemical Engineering at IIT Kanpur, he served ANSYS – Fluent India Private Limited for more than 3 years as a CFD Engineer before completing PhD from IIT Kanpur. Presently, he is a Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering and served as Head at the Centre for Nanotechnology & School of Health Sciences and Technology at IIT Guwahati. He has also served as visiting faculty at Yeungnam Univerisity at South Korea under the WCU Program, and KTH Sweden under the Erasmus Mundus program.

His research areas encompass Thin film Dynamics, Soft-matter Physics, Liquid Crystals and Smart Materials, Droplet and Digital Microfluidics, Health Care Point-of-Cater-Testing Devices, MEMS Theranostics, Microrheology, Clean energy, Harvesting, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Stability and Instability of Fluidic systems, Complex
Fluids, Microrheology, among others.

He has authored ~130 research publications in the international journals and has filed 21 Indian and 9 international patents so far. He is also one of the PIs of “Centre for Excellence on the Research and Development of Nanoelectronic Theranostic Devices”,
“Centre for Excellence in Disruptive Innovations & Product Development for Affordable Rural Healthcare”, and BioNEST at IIT Guwahati. He delivered Prof. C. V. Seshadri Memorial Distinguished Lecture 2020, IIT Kanpur. He is the recipient of NCL’s Prof. K
Venkataraman CHEMCON Award in CHEMCON 2016. He and his group at the Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati is the recipients of Gandhian Young Technology award 2016 and 2019, BIRAC-SRISTI Appreciation Award 2017 and 2021. He is a nominated member of American Chemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry, and Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Suphiya Khan

Dr Suphiya Khan is an Associate Professor and Founder of spin out company Drumlins Water Technologies Pvt Ltd at Banasthali Vidyapith which is the world largest residential NAAC A++ Women University. She is the recipient of many national and international awards includingNational Academy of Science (NASI) Reliance Platinum Jubilee Award 2021, TIE-BIRAC WInER award 2019, Women transforming India Award 2019 by NITI Ayog, Chevening Research Science and Innovation Policy (CRISP) fellowship from University of Oxford,TIE Women Runner up Rajasthan, Wonder women in STEM award for contribution in Science and Innovation, Water Digest Award 2021 for Women contribution in water sector, DBT-Research Associateship, Young Scientist award, ICAR, Recognition award for research and teaching.DST Rajasthan awarded her for commendable work in Science and Technology.Having demonstrated excellent leadership skills in managing the scientific (UGC, DST), Innovation (BIG-BIRAC project), multidisciplinary DST, Low-cost renewable energy driven (LCRED), societal and institutional projects (Centre for Excellence COE) in water research and innovation. Her story released as a women Entrepreneur leading change in India by NITI AYOG through Hon’ble Defence Minister Shri Rajnath Singh. She is a passionate teacher of having 17 years of teaching experience of UG and PG classes, more than 87 research publications, 5 books and 7 patents to her credit Her vision is to translate my research work into affordable, water purification technologies and products.

IEEE websites place cookies on your device to give you the best user experience. By using our websites, you agree to the placement of these cookies. To learn more, read our Privacy Policy.